analytics tool
1903 Tour de France - Stage 1 - Velo Peloton
Tour de France
1903 Tour de France
Nov 16, 2014
1903 Tour de France
Tour de France History
Nov 16, 2014
Show all

1903 Tour de France – Stage 1

1903 Tour de France

1903 Tour de France

Stage: 1 – 1 July : Paris – Lyon, 467 km

For the 1903 Tour de France – Stage 1 there were 79 riders entered in the race. Only 60 turned up at the start of which only 37 would finish the first stage into Lyon the following day. The stage started at 15:16. The riders raced through the night with the winner Maurice Garin arriving in Lyon at 09:00 the following morning. The last rider to finish would be 20 hours behind Garin. The bikes weighed about 12 kilos and were fixed wheel. The rear wheel had a sprocket each side. One big and one small. Riders would have to remove the wheel and flip it around and then refit it to change gear. As the wheels were fixed, they had to pedal down hill. Bikes were without lights and had one brake on the front. Riders had to carry all their own spares and tools.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen mode
1903 Tour de France - Stage 1

loading map - please wait...

| km | +m | download GPX file download GPX file
1903 Tour de France - Stage 1 Start: 48.718977, 2.444125

This is an approximation of the route. It is not 100% accurate.

1903 Tour de France

1903 Tour de France Start Café au Reveil Matin

Result 1903 Tour de France – Stage 1
1Maurice GarinFRAin 17h 45m 13s
2Émile PagieFRA@ 55s
3Léon GeorgetFRA@ 34m 59s
4Fernand AugereauFRA@ 01h 02m 48s
5Jean-Baptiste FischerFRA@ 01h 04m 53s
6Marcel KerffBEL@ 01h 42m 53s
7Alois CatteauBEL@ 01h 48m 55s
8Ernest PivinFRA@ 01h 49m 47s
9Léon HabetsFRA@ 02h 08m 15s
10François BeaugendreFRA@ 02h 08m 26s
11Rodolfo MullerITA@ 02h 57m 49s
12Henri GaubanFRA@ 02h 57m 49s
13Anton JaeckSUI@ 02h 57m 49s
14Lucien PothierFRA@ 02h 57m 49s
15Marcel LequatreSUI@ 02h 57m 49s
16Georges PasquierFRA@ 02h 57m 49s
17Charles LaeserSUI@ 03h 02m 56s
18Julien LootensBEL@ 03h 06m 42s
19Josef FischerGER@ 03h 23m 41s
20Gaston-René SalaisFRA@ 04h 59m 16s
21Georges BorotFRA@ 04h 59m 16s
22Isidore Le ChartierFRA@ 05h 05m 56s
23Jean DargassiesFRA@ 05h 18m 56s
24Julien GirbeFRA@ 06h 58m 46s
25Alexandre FoureauxFRA@ 07h 23m 56s
26François MonachonFRA@ 07h 24m 48s
27Philippe De BaladeFRA@ 07h 24m 48s
28H. EllinamourFRA@ 07h 35m 56s
29Ferdinand PayanFRA@ 08h 02m 48s
30Gustave GuillarmeFRA@ 08h 02m 50s
31Léon PernetteFRA@ 08h 45m 21s
32Lucien BarroyFRA@ 08h 45m 21s
33Arsène MillocheauFRA@ 08h 53m 59s
34Emile MoulinFRA@ 09h 27m 44s
35Ludwig BarthelmannGER@ 10h 37m 42s
36Pierre DesvagesFRA@ 12h 30m 44s
37Eugène BrangeFRA@ 19h 57m 36s

The following riders abandoned on stage 1.

Hippolyte AucouturierFRAAbandoned
Louis BarbrelFRAAbandoned
Jules SalesBELAbandoned
Edouard WattelierFRAAbandoned
Claude ChapperonFRAAbandoned
Jean BedéneFRAAbandoned
Armand PérinFRAAbandoned
Eugène GeayFRAAbandoned
Benjamin MounierFRAAbandoned
Paul MercierSUIAbandoned
Léon DurandeauFRAAbandoned
Léon RicheFRAAbandoned
A. LassartigueFRAAbandoned
L. FougereFRAAbandoned
Emile TorisaniITAAbandoned
Henri CharrierFRAAbandoned
Paul TrippierFRAAbandoned
Jean Baptiste ZimmermannFRAAbandoned
Victor LefevreFRAAbandoned
Auguste DaumainFRAAbandoned
Charles QuetierFRAAbandoned
François PousselFRAAbandoned
Edouard WattelierFRAAbandoned

The following riders did not start.

Charles PrevostFRADid Not Start
G. DorlinFRADid Not Start
Adolphe DorionFRADid Not Start
Marcel ValpicFRADid Not Start
Gabriel BaraquinFRADid Not Start
Auguste LapreeFRADid Not Start
Emile FichterFRADid Not Start
Paul EmileFRADid Not Start
François JulienFRADid Not Start
Paul RosaFRADid Not Start
Georges LeblaisFRADid Not Start
Louis TrousselierFRADid Not Start
I. VermeulenBELDid Not Start
? PamateurSUIDid Not Start
Nicolas YourassofFRADid Not Start
Louis ConstantFRADid Not Start
Lucien Petit-BretonFRADid Not Start
? MargotFRADid Not Start
Walter MadorinSUIDid Not Start

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *